Executive Leadership Board

The Executive Leadership Board is a team of expert advisers who help to define our mission and the focus of our work. The individual board members bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to our organization, and we are grateful for their service.

Grace Baranek
Associate Dean, Chair and Mrs. T.H. Chan Professor of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
University of Southern California

Barbara T. Bowman
Irving B. Harris Professor of Child Development
Erikson Institute

Brian A. Boyd
Associate Professor and Director Juniper Gardens Children’s Project
University of Kansas

Elizabeth Pungello Bruno
Brady Education Foundation

Bruce A. Cairns
John Stackhouse Distinguished Professor of Surgery
North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center, UNC School of Medicine

Peggy C. Carter
Chair, Board of Directors
Winston-Salem State University Foundation

Kenneth A. Dodge
Pritzker Professor of Public Policy
Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University

Muffy Grant
Executive Director
North Carolina Early Childhood Foundation

Ronald T. Haskins
Senior Fellow and Cabot Family Chair, Economic Studies
Co-Director, Center on Children and Families
The Brookings Institution

Olson Huff
Medical Director Emeritus
Mission Children's Hospital

Hal Kaplan
Executive Chairman
Kaplan Early Learning Company

Howard N. Lee
Howard N. Lee Institute
Formerly, North Carolina State Board of Education

Marvin H. McKinney
Senior Consultant, University Outreach and Engagement
Michigan State University

Evelyn K. Moore
President Emerita
National Black Child Development Institute

Duncan Munn
Formerly, Early Intervention Branch
NC Department of Health and Human Services

James M. Perrin
John C. Robinson Chair in Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital

Karen Ponder
Distinguished Fellow
BUILD Initiative