Home » People » Executive Leadership Board

Executive Leadership Board

The Executive Leadership Board was established in 2001 as an advisory board to guide the UNC Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute in its mission to conduct research that makes a difference in children's lives, supports families, and informs public policy. Board members provide strategic advice to the Institute's director and leadership team, work to enhance communication with key external partners and constituencies, and support the Institute's efforts to build an enduring financial base.

The Board is comprised of influential leaders who are knowledgeable about the most important challenges facing young children, their families, and the institutions that serve children and families. Board members represent key constituencies, including business, governmental, philanthropic, public, and professional sectors. These individuals bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to our organization, and we are grateful for their service.

Grace Baranek
Associate Dean, Chair, and Mrs. T.H. Chan Professor of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
University of Southern California

Emma S. Battle
President and CEO
MarketVigor, LLC

Brian A. Boyd
Associate Professor and Director of the Juniper Gardens Children’s Project
University of Kansas

Renée Boynton-Jarrett
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Boston Medical Center

Elizabeth Pungello Bruno
Brady Education Foundation

Bruce A. Cairns
John Stackhouse Distinguished Professor of Surgery
North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center, UNC School of Medicine

Kenneth A. Dodge
William McDougall Distinguished Professor of Public Policy Studies
Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University

Muffy Grant
Executive Director
North Carolina Early Childhood Foundation

Karen C. Hall
Graduate Student
School Psychology Program, UNC School of Education

Ronald T. Haskins*
Senior Fellow Emeritus
The Brookings Institution

Olson Huff
Medical Director Emeritus
Mission Children's Hospital

Liz Jaramillo
Graduate Student
Speech and Hearing Sciences Division, UNC School of Medicine

Marvin H. McKinney
Senior Consultant, University Outreach and Engagement
Michigan State University

Duncan E. Munn
Formerly, Early Intervention Branch
NC Department of Health and Human Services

James M. Perrin
John C. Robinson Chair in Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital

Cheryl Polk
Chief Program Officer
Safe and Sound

Karen Ponder*
Distinguished Fellow
BUILD Initiative

Mark F. Testa
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
School of Social Work, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Rob Thompson
Director, Early Childhood
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina Foundation

Jonathan Todres
Distinguished University Professor and Professor of Law
Georgia State University College of Law

Elizabeth Star Winer
Winer Family Foundation

Tracy Zimmerman
Senior Director of External Affairs
NC Department of Health and Human Services

*Emeritus members